Blog Home
Why Read?

Click Image to Customize Page

2008 National League Cy Young Award

Each year, as the weather cools and the hysteria of the Major League Baseball post season winds down, 28 members of the Baseball Writers Association of America decide on several regular season awards. Although many are debatable, this is the first year in recent memory that the writers will absolutely get one wrong.

The Cy Young Award is an award that is given to the most outstanding pitcher in each league. It is given to the player that exemplifies the most dominance over hitters in their respective league. In my opinion this is an easy choice, but there is an unwritten rule that will disqualify the most deserving player of his chance at grabbing his second Cy Young Award in as many years. This rule, of course, is that a player must play the entire season in one league. Baseball writers will undoubtedly take one away from C.C. Sabathia.

How do I know C.C. has no chance? Follow me back to 1998. Randy Johnson was traded from the Seattle Mariners to the Houston Astros. He went 10-1 with a 1.28 ERA and led the Astros to the playoffs. Johnson finished seventh in Cy Young Voting. While Johnson should have won, I would argue that Sabathia’s NL performance was without a doubt more dominating than Johnsons. C.C. couldn’t have been more dominant if he was pitching against the Milwaukee Over 50 Recreational League. But voters don’t look at dominance. They go to and sort stats by wins, innings pitched and strikeouts. Even though Sabathia went 11-2 with a 1.65 ERA, 7 complete games, 3 shutouts, and one “unofficial” no hitter, you will most definitely see Brandon Webb or Tim Lincecum accept the hardware. Not to take anything away from Webb’s 22 wins or Lincecum’s 2.62 ERA, but these two weren’t rolled out to the hill on three days rest or forced to pitch almost every game until the game was over. Sabathia was a workhorse that dominated from the very first time he took the mound in the NL, and is the most significant reason the Brewers are in the playoffs. If that doesn’t exemplify dominance, then I don’t know what does.

But what do I know? I’m just a blogger, not a Baseball Writer…

Be Sociable, Share!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “2008 National League Cy Young Award”

  1. Iron Mike Says:

    One needs to look only at Rick Sutcliffe’s 1984 split season, (Indians and Cubs) to validate your point. Eerily similar stats and Sutcliffe rightfully was awarded the CYA. Not since that year has a midseason acquisition been so instrumental in single handedly propelling his team into the playoffs. Neither Webb nor Lincecum were able to do that. CC for the CYA!

  2. Chet Bowers Says:

    Well written post…an excellent point to consider

  3. Bob Gilligan Says:

    Thought provoking material. Right on the money, young man!

  4. Die hard Giants fan Says:

    I think you all have great opinions about who should be given the CYA this year and i think its quite clear cut who the 3 top pitchers in the National League of 2008 were. Unfortunately CC ofcourse didnt pitch the whole season in one leageu which is sad cause he might have won the award. Second, Webb who was the 2006 CYA winner looks like he might end up taking this award, thought i think that Lincecum might end up taking this ward this year. For starters, he was very dominate, leading the league in strikeouts and leading the league in E.R.A. pretty much til’ the end of the season til’ C.C. threw that shutout in Late September. If you see how many Wins compared to Webb, 19 to 22 i believe, well Lincecum is on a horrible hitting team. We were dead last in homeruns and batting. To have won 19 games when the Giants finished 15/16 games under .500 then that is quite impressive. He lead the league in pitches thrown per/game. Oh did i mention his bull pen blew over 7 games which he left the game leading. Webb’s strikeouts and e.r.a. are not comparable to Lincecum and this year though the Diamondbacks chocked the last few weeks of the season they were the best team in the Nationa League West for most of the season. Thank you Feel free to reply :) [email protected]

  5. Brent Minderler Says:

    It’s going to be Timothy LeRoy, no one can doubt it. He might not be leading in overall wins, but every other stat he shines in. Go Giants (next season)! Please pick up CC Sabathia?

  6. zeve Says:

    AL: Cliff Lee
    NL: Johan Santana

Leave a Reply

Baseball Rampage About Us Affiliates FAQ Forum Articles Rewards Program Sitemap Retail Store
Baseball Rampage is a secure website. Our data is encrypted by Verisign. View our full Privacy Policy. All information, articles, photos, images, logos, and content Copyright Baseball Rampage 2007. We Accept Paypal, Mastercard, Visa, Amex, and Discover Credit Cards